Recipes - Vegetarian

Homemade baked beans – simple & delicious!

As I was moving to a vegetarian diet during 2016 one of the first veggie recipes I shared was ‘beans on toast’. A recipe that came thanks to Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food book.

‘Beans trump pork’

At the time my most popular recipe was for slow roasted pork with crispy crackling – with over 10,000 views in 2016. Back then I’d never have thought baked beans would become my most viewed post. But that’s exactly what happened – since 2017 ‘Jamie’s comfort food beans on toast’ has been the most viewed Feast Wisely recipe. So far this year it’s has had over 6,000 views – double that of slow roasted pork.

Why am I sharing this? Because it’s fascinating what a few readership stats could be hinting at in terms of our foodie behaviours. Perhaps the ‘beans trump pork’ stat is an indication of just how popular vegetarian and vegan diets are becoming in Australia, the UK and the US – those countries where over 75% of my readers come from. Or maybe it’s reflection of just how darn good home made baked beans taste…..or even a reflection of how anything with Jamie Oliver’s magic behind it is guaranteed to be a hit….

Whatever the case enough about stats, back to homemade bakes beans. After my recent long overdue purchase of a pressure cooker one of my first creations was a huge batch of baked beans – ‘Jamie style’. This time I experimented with borlotti beans instead of cannellini beans and the more robust flavour of borlotti beans made for an even better outcome…..

Whatever type of beans you have to hand, and whether they’re dried or canned, turn them into classic baked beans and you won’t be disappointed!

For the recipe check out my original post: Jamie Oliver’s ‘Comfort Food’ homemade baked beans

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade baked beans – simple & delicious!

  1. Pingback: Homemade baked beans – simple & delicious! — Feast Wisely | My Meals are on Wheels

Leave a comment